Teaching Advent

My daughter turned one yesterday and I want Advent to be a season she never forgets.

Technorati Tags: , , ,


One of the best parts of learning to be a father is the discovery that I get to teach her. I get to teach her some pretty awesome things about life. I’m trying to figure out how to celebrate Advent with her this year. I know she won’t remember it, but I want to establish a yearly pattern of observing and celebrating Advent. I haven’t done any research on this, but I bet that part of knowing one’s community identity is the teaching and retelling of that community’s stories. Ask an observant Jew during Passover, “Why is this night different than other nights?” and he or she will tell you the story of God’s delivery of Israel out of the hand of Egypt. I’m looking to teach Advent so that one day my daughter will be able to answer similar questions. This doesn’t come from a desire to see her win any ribbon or trophy for her ecclesiastical knowledge, but a desire for her to know our story and our place in the drama of Scripture.

Any good ideas? I know Phillip Winn has talked about his family’s use of Advent candles. I wonder if an Advent Haggadah would be appropriate..a narration of Advent as stories, psalms, songs, etc?

(Partially republished from Pastor At Large)

~ by revmhj on November 27, 2005.

One Response to “Teaching Advent”

  1. I love the idea of an Advent Haggadah! Please post anything you find like that.

    I have found Noel Piper’s book “Treasuring Christ in Our Traditions” very helpful in establishing meaningful observnaces with our little ones. I posted a summary of her thoughts and suggestions for Christmas at my blog. I wasn’t sure if it was appropriate to put over here.

Leave a Reply

 
