I’m waiting to wait

Every year I intend to be more prepared for this, the first day of the Advent season. Every year it catches me almost unaware. Oh, we’ve got candles, and our devotional material is handy. I knew the date was on the calendar, but I don’t feel “ready.” I don’t feel expectant, or watchful.

Of course, neither did most of the people alive when Jesus was born as a human, so I’m in good company there!

I end up using this season to get ready for Christmas. Less than ideal, but if I can end up looking forward to Christ’s return by the end of December, I will count is as a successful Advent season.

O come, Emmanuel. Deliver me from my busyness!

– Phillip

~ by Phillip Winn on December 2, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
