The Advent of Our King

I’ve not successfully found really great Advent music (please let me know if you’re aware of any!). So I’ve decided to start working on some of my own. To begin, I’m finding old Advent hymns to which I’ve never heard the music, and just writing my own.

“The Advent of Our King” is an 18th century hymn. I found the words years ago and recently decided to create some music for it. Interestingly, after writing the music, I finally looked up the original tune and found that I close the last few words of each stanza much like the original. (I also get the suspicious feeling that my melody here is a hodge-podge of other hymn melodies – link to my version below the words.)

1. The advent of our King
Our prayers must now employ,
And we must hymns of welcome sing
In strains of holy joy.

2. The everlasting Son
Incarnate deigns to be;
Himself a servant’s form puts on
To set His servants free.

3. O Zion’s Daughter, rise
To meet thy lowly King,
Nor let thy faithless heart despise
The peace He comes to bring.

4. As Judge, on clouds of light,
He soon will come again
And His true members all unite
With Him in heaven to reign.

5. Before the dawning day
Let sin’s dark deeds be gone,
The old man all be put away,
The new man all put on.

6. All glory to the Son,
Who comes to set us free,
With Father, Spirit, ever One,
Through all eternity.

Here’s a quick, “open up Garageband and hit record,” no bells and whistles or even second takes recording of my version.

~ by Travis on December 9, 2009.

One Response to “The Advent of Our King”

  1. Here are a few we sing, but they are to the older tunes. I think these are some of the best Advent hymns:

    O Come, O Come Emmanuel
    Savior of the Nations Come
    Lo! He Comes In Clouds Descending
    Wake, Awake for Night is Flying
    On Jordan’s Bank the Baptist’s Cry
    Hark! A Thrilling Voice is Sounding
    Comfort, Comfort Ye My People

Leave a Reply

 
